Where does all the time go ?

Where does all the time go?
I go online and look at twitter Facebook Google+ and really look at it.
On twitter I follow the likes of Felicia Day, Wil Wheaton, Leo Laporte and others, but why do I do this?  I don’t know them maybe it helps me pretend I may have some connection to these famous people. I enjoy thier work and I would like to know them they are probably genuinely nice people but I don’t know them personally and when I really think about it following them is a bit of hero worship.   I follow PC Gamer on Facebook and twitter but I don’t have enough time to actually read the magazine or even the articles that are linked on the social media. I listen to podcasts that make me envious of people who are able to do things I want to do and seem more informed and better about I enjoy playing PC games but I tend to play them
beyond the time I should be going to bed or trying to do them on the weekends while my son stares at a TV screen watching some kids show again.  I have been reading more lately and the books are awesome to read in the moments that I have. Then again is reading better than playing a great game or working on a project?  If I get frustrated that I don’t have the time to play all the new games coming out why do I listen to podcasts about gaming that feature all the new games?  I could play all the games I have and have either not played or only played a small amount of.  Will I get more out of touch with the current industry?   What about social media?  Why follow or friend people that I will never have much contact with?    Following famous
people may just be a way to feel like maybe since I know what they are doing I can feel a little famous too. Or maybe waiting for something to
happen but then again what relevance does that have to my life?   Maybe it would be better to find people to spend time with directly. One of those I hate Facebook but cannot quit using it.  Especially since it makes connecting with friends easier and arranging calendar things better.

What do I enjoy watching a good show, reading a good book, listening to music, playing games video and other, cooking a nice meal, fishing?  A lot of these things people say are bad for you sitting at a computer playing games is not good for you but why is sitting and reading a book better? Watching TV or Movies also at home it’s hard to dedicate time to. I think one of the small times when I really am able to relax and enjoy myself are at a movie in a theater probably because I know I will not be disturbed and am able to focus completely on the movie.  TV shows can be good and I’m not talking about reality crud.     Shows that are well written and really have a decent story are great to watch and I think they can be as good as any book.

 I do enjoy some exercise especially since I have lost some weight but I still do not understand what people mean when they look forward to their workouts it is still a chore to me especially when I feel like I have little time for other things that are probably worse for me just because
they are sedentary activities.  I want to be healthier and I’m glad I no longer require all the meds I needed before, but I still have trouble with
looking forward to exercise.  Though walking to the store and back is great but I feel rushed.  Walking around fishing is fun too but again there is always something looming that makes it hard to enjoy the moment so why do them if the time you do get for them can’t be enjoyed.    There are always more chores to do more things to arrange more projects to work on.  Adding skills and learning new things are probably some of the hardest things to make time for new skills need time to practice and taking slow time to really get good at something is hard to do.  Projects also are hard to make time for especially when it coincides with learning new skills. I recently read an article about priorities.   The things you prioritize more are the things you have time for or can make time for.  Here is the kicker though the stuff people say you should make priorities exercise, sleep, family, health are sometimes not the things you find enjoyable.  What if trying to force these things into being priorities cause more stress?  What if I want to just sit and enjoy a movie or sleep in a bit rather than working out?  How about writing or reading a book?  Is it worse to sit and watch a show with my son or work on a project that he cannot help on?  It may be that I need to work out a schedule such as making some days screen free no shows, no internet.  If I get bored there are books projects other stuff to do.  On that same vein however I need to make days that are scheduled to play some games or watch shows that are within reason. I think I am going to start using the social media stuff a bit less it’s nice to get updates on what is going on in the lives of friends and people I care about, but I think the celebrities and podcasts and other such I need to treatlike I do with the news.  I don’t really watch it does not add value to my life and just eats the time I could be using to do other things.  Also I think I’m going to update my status with real stuff more regularly or actually put more on my blog.   That way the people I care about will be able to see what is going on with me and hopefully I will be able to see what goes on with them.  I’m not actually sure if this is a rant or some sort of wild introspection or what so I hope I did not offend anyone. I also know there is alot of me me me in this post.  I just get tired trying to figure out what will make me happy or chasing things that other people say should make me happy.

Leave a Reply

